2015 ONYX Awards Recap

The 11th Annual ONYX Awards took place on Saturday, March 28, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. (reception at 6:00 p.m.) at the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, downtown Orlando.

ONYX was honored to have the Matriarch of the Voting Rights Act, Mrs. Amelia Boynton Robinson who continued the good fight after being violently attacked on the Edmund Pettus Bridge and Martin Luther King, III, a man who has not only followed in his father’s footsteps but has inspired another generation to pick up the banner in the fight for human rights.

In addition, the presidents of Florida’s four historically black institutions of higher education were celebrated during the 11th Annual ONYX Awards in Orlando. President Edison O. Jackson of Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach; President Nathaniel Glover of Edward Waters College in Jacksonville; President Elmira Mangum of Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University in Tallahassee; and President Roslyn Clark Artis of Florida Memorial University in Miami, were each recognized for their personal leadership achievements and the outstanding work that their students, faculty and staff contribute to the world.

parallax background